

Dedicated to the Preservation of Historic Sites . . .

The Rome Area Heritage Foundation (RAHF) welcomes increasing support for the inclusion of North Rome as one of our National Register Historic sites in Rome and Floyd County. North Rome has many ties to our towns Black and minority history. It should be registered as a historic district. In fact, the only historic districts with ties to Black and minority history in Floyd County are outside the city limits, specifically the Chubbtown area in Cave Spring and the Fairview School.

The RAHF board of directors and its membership support this effort for inclusion. Currently, there are two places in North Rome which are included in the National Registry for Historic Places: Thankful Baptist Church, which was founded by freed slaves following the passing of the Emancipation Proclamation in 1863, and Main High School, which was once the only high school for minorities before Brown v. the Board of Education was passed.

Protecting its heritage is one indicator of a city that cares about its future. An informed public benefits from understanding the work and vision of previous generations and the story told through their buildings and artifacts. It is toward that goal the members of the Rome Area Heritage Foundation strive to find, identify, and preserve the history contained in the heart pine, oak, bricks, stones, and stories that remain as guides into Rome's past.

Unfortunately, many of Floyd County's treasures have fallen prey to neglect and even demolition, whether willfully or because of lack of interest. RAHF has a mandate to help find ways to make preservation a priority: when something educational is destroyed, it is lost or relegated to writing and rarely remembered.

RAHF is encouraged by statements of support being expressed by our city planners. We hope the National Park Service's Underrepresented Community Grant Program will see this as a win-win situation for present and future generations in our town as well.

On behalf of the Rome Area Heritage Foundation, its Board and members,

Jeb Arp & Jonathan Gilreath-Harvey, Co-Presidents